Gold Tinted

Audio/ Visual ideas & goings on.

Lady GaGa – Marry The Night

So much worthy anticipation over the latest visual masterpiece from the Haus of Gaga. Of course after the lack lustre affair which was “Edge of Glory” and the most random explosion of design which was “You & I”, the expectation was that the video for “Marry The Night” had to be brilliant. I for one am still lost in the excitement of it, not so much that it is a brilliant music video for that much I’m not even sure it is. In the way I think it was intended, Marry The Night is a short film displaying the circle of success and self-destruction for a hard-working popstar. What makes it stand out ‘narratively’ is the early commentary by Gaga which at a moment sounds like a director’s commentary on a Dvd extra, explaining the reasons for the look and feel of the video. All the while one has the sense of sentiment and the actual tone of the narrative tells us more than the words themselves. Perhaps this is the most true and sincere look into the mind and heart of Gaga. For once the story may be true and believable even if set amongst a backdrop of somewhat curious, or fanciful designs. In response to FAQ’s regarding the video Gaga has been quoted as saying

“It is my personal way of seeing things. If you give up after something like that, you were never destined to be an entertainer… It was one of the worst days of my life and it happened quite quickly, but in my mind, when I think back on that period of my life, it all happened very slow… I was naked in real life when it happened. That’s probably the most honest moment in that video of everything I’ve ever done. My directorial decision was for them to just f–king roll the cameras, because I couldn’t go in and out of the moment… In order to be great writing music, you have to acknowledge what is wrong with your work, or what is dishonest about it. What have I not been really great at?… I don’t know, I don’t have an answer to that question. I love the obstacles. To marry your obstacles mean I, the artist, wholeheartedly accept everything you throw at me, I am destined to struggle, I am destined to write music about the struggle, and I accept it willingly.”*

Overall the look is just what I’d hoped for with the use of many typical, but not so cliché production design, such as the green in the hospital, the pale colours of the dance studio and the vibrancy of a pop video when dancing in the street. Watch the video after this large collection of stills.

*Source Instinct Mag

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 2, 2011 by in Featured, Moving Image, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Popular Posts of Yesterday

